Mamma Mia!

I saw Mamma Mia last night at midnight! (and no, not just because Dark Knight’s midnight showing was sold out days ago.) While I’ve never seen the musical before, I was psyched to see this movie because I rarely dislike a movie musical and because of the awesome memories I have of Hairspray last summer and the hopes that the joy of Hairspray could be reproduced.

While Mamma Mia isn’t quite as edgy or fabulously campy as Hairspray was, I had a great time watching it, and I imagine I’ll be buying it when it comes out on DVD.

I can’t be quite as impressed with a musical, in which the music isn’t even original, but was written long ago and not as a coherent story, and then cut and pasted into a plot. And yeah, it really did feel at times like someone picked their favorite Abba songs and then asked how they could reasonably stitch them all together into one loose story (this is probably how it happened. I’m just saying, it shows). But who can resist tapping their toes to Abba and laughing at some silly dialogue and hijinks for a couple hours?

As far as social value, eh, not much to speak of, though it is refreshing to see a happy romantic ending that doesn’t have to end with marriage (at least not for everyone). Call me a generational snob, but doesn’t the married-and-live-happily-ever-after trope seem so out of place these days?

Some acting side notes: Pierce Brosnan is hilarious in the movie. The fact that he can’t pull off being a musical man makes it look like all he’s trying to pull off is being hilariously bad and out of place, and then he succeeds, rather than fails. It works. Meryl Streep continues to be amazing. Amanda Seyfried is very cute in the role and very talented, but it’s weird to see her doing this after I’ve gotten to know her on Big Love.

Leave a Reply

